VFW Names 2019 Scout of the Year Winners

- 7/9/2019

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (July 9, 2019) – The Veterans of Foreign Wars of the U.S. is proud to announce the selection of the top three winners of its 2018 - 2019 Scout of the Year scholarship competition. 

Enacted in 2001, the Scout of the Year competition was designed to reward eligible members of the Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Venturing Crew or Sea Scouts who have risen above their peers in exemplifying standout citizenship, patriotism and love of country with college scholarships of up to $5,000.


This year’s first-place winner, Elizabeth Bock, was sponsored by VFW Post 3208 in Sierra Madre, Calif. She was selected for her activism with local youth and government programs, dedication to serving others and her work advocating for women’s issues and gender equality. As the first-place recipient, Elizabeth will receive a $5,000 college scholarship.


Owen Sumter, sponsored by VFW Post 9675 in Bellevue, Neb., was selected as the second-place winner for his notable community service work, his work supporting the homeless community through food and dental hygiene drives, and for his history of work within the Boy Scouts. Owen will receive a $3,000 college scholarship.


Sponsored by VFW Post 8466 in Wake Forest, N.C., Megan Rogers was selected as the third-place winner for her work combating the gender disparity in science-related fields, dedication to serving and improving her local community, and her positive leadership skills. Megan will receive a $1,000 college scholarship.