Officers

 

2016/2017

VFW NE HQ

402-464-0674

John Liebsack: Johnl@vfwne.org

qm@ne.vfwwebmail.com

adj@ne.vfwwebmail.com

Jody Sullivan: jodys@vfwne.org

Trudie Hammers: trudie@vfwne.org

stateheadquarters@ne.vfwwebmail.com

 

Officers 

State Commander         J. Douglas Whitaker                 jd_whitaker@hotmail.com

1104 MacArthur Dr.; Papillion, NE 68046              816-916-4857               post 9675

J. Douglas Whitaker - VFW Nebraska State Commander

J. Douglas Whitaker – VFW Nebraska State Commander

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

State Sr. Vice Com.  Larry Gerlt  Larry.Gerlt@cox.net  8510  Monroe St.; Ralston, NE 68127    402-618-2731       post 2704

 

State Jr. Vice Com.  Gary E. Bush Sr. commanderbushvfw@gmail.com

PO Box 213; Ogallala, NE 69153 308-284-0816 post 3755

 

State Adj/QM John Liebsack johnl@vfwne.org

PO Box 4552; Lincoln, NE 68504 402-464-0674 post1581

 

Assistant Adjutant David DuBois VFWNE4502QM@live.com

818 Elm N Elm St.; Wahoo, NE 68066 402-277-0852 post 4502

 

State Judge Advocate Joe Smith jesmithess@msn.com

1416 Betz Rd; Bellevue, NE 68005 402-661-9875 post 2280

 

State Surgeon   Dan Kramer    kramerd27@yahoo.com

PO Box 53; Stapleton, NE 69163-0053   308-636-8359  post 8258

 

State Chaplain Jerry Ludwig jerryandmardelle@cox.net

6814 N 106th Cir.; Omaha, NE 68122 402-498-2735 post 7998

 

State Inspector Roger Broeker rbroekermaywood@yahoo.com

216 East Walnut; Maywood, NE 69038 308-362-4995 post 1504

 

State Chief of Staff Sam DeJohn SamD1945@aol.com

15322 R St; Omaha, NE 68137 402-515-8386 post 8334

 

Assistant Chief of Staff Dan Petersen dpetersen001@neb.rr.com

3521 N 72nd St; Lincoln, NE 68507 402-770-0856 post 131

 

Past State Commander Mike Medina vaq135whaler@yahoo.com

1116 3rd St.; Fairbury, NE 68352 402-300-0971 post 3113

 

Duties

Commander – Leader of the post, district or department and presides over post meetings.

Senior Vice Commander – Leads when Commander is unavailable.

Junior Vice Commander – Leads if both the Commander and Sr. Vice Commander are unavailable.

Quartermaster – Post Treasurer and material procurer.

Judge Advocate – Assists Commander in Post and VFW procedures.

Chaplin – Performs prayers in meetings and special veterans services.

Surgeon – Educates Post members on veterans health related issues.

Note: Trustees are also elected but are not considered Line Officers. Their duty is to audit the post financial books quarterly.

Note: House Committee members are also elected and not considered officers. They oversee the maintenance of the post and canteen.